MBI Staff Member – Personal info


Director at the Max-Born-Institut 
für Nichtlineare Optik und Kurzzeitspektroskopie 
im Forschungsverbund Berlin e.V.

Professor for Experimental Physics at the 
Technische Universität Berlin, 
Institut für Optik und Atomare Physik


  • Transient electronic structure and ultrafast optical manipulation of magnetization
  • Nanoscale (transient) structure and emerging materials properties
  • Novel imaging and scattering methods with coherent radiation at short wavelength
  • XUV and X-ray spectroscopy, light matter interaction

Curriculum vitae

2015-Director at the Max-Born-Institute and Professor in Physics (W3) at the Technische Universität Berlin, Experimental Physics / Laser Physics. Member of the Executive Board of Forschungsverbund Berlin e.V.
2012-2015Professor in Physics, Lund University, Coherent Imaging Methods in Materials Science
2009-2015Head of the Joint Research Group Functional Nanomaterials between Helmholtz Zentrum Berlin and Technische Univserität Berlin
2008-2015Professor in Physics (W3), Technische Universität Berlin, Experimental Physics / Nanometer-Optics and X-Ray Scattering
2005-2008Privatdozent at Humboldt-Universität Berlin
2002-2008Staff Scientist, BESSY, head of in-house research group Resonant Scattering
2002Habilitation (Cologne University), Thesis: Streuung weicher Röntgenstrahlung: Neue Techniken zur Untersuchung nanostrukturierter Materialien
2001Staff Scientist, Stanford Linear Accelerator Center, USA
1998-2001Staff Scientist, IFF, Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany
1996-1998Postdoc, IFF, Forschungszentrum Jülich
1993-1996Ph.D. research at the University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada via DAAD fellowship. Thesis (Cologne University): Electronic and Structural Properties of Interfaces and Semiconductor Nanostructures
1992Diplom in Physics, Cologne University, research at IFF, Forschungszentrum Jülich. Thesis: Electronic and Geometric Structure of Buried CoSi2 Layers investigated with Photon-in Photon-out Spectroscopies
1988Vordiplom Physics
1986Vordiplom Biology
1965Born in Cologne


Committees of Trust / Community Service

2022-Chairman of the Physikalische Gesellschaft zu Berlin e.V.
2022-Chairman of the Elettra Scientific Advisory Council
2019-Member of the Elettra Scientific Advisory Council
2016-2019Member of the BMBF Gutachterausschuss
2015-2018Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Committee of the European XFEL
2014-2016Member of the Extended Governing Board of the Ioffe-Röntgen-Institute (IRI)
2014-2017Chairman of the Komitee für Forschung mit Synchrotronstrahlung (KFS)
2013-2016Member of the BMBF Gutachterausschuss
2013-2021Member of the Scientific Advisory Committee of the European XFEL
2013-Member of the DESY Photon Science Committee
2008-2020Member of the Komitee für Forschung mit Synchrotronstrahlung (KFS)


MBI Publications

  1. Exploring the fundamental spatial Limits of Magnetic All-Optical Switching

    F. Steinbach, I. Atxitia, K. Yao, M. Borchert, D. Engel, F. Bencivenga, L. Foglia, R. Mincigrucci, E. Pedersoli, D. De Angelis, M. Pancaldi, D. Fainozzi, J. S. Pelli Cresi, E. Paltanin, F. Capotondi, C. Masciovecchio, S. Eisebitt, C. von Korff Schmising

    Nano Letters online (2024) 1-7
  2. Relationship between magnetic asymmetry and magnetization in ultrafast transverse magneto-optical Kerr effect spectroscopy in the extreme ultraviolet spectral range

    J. Richter, S. Jana, M. Hennecke, D. Schick, C. von Korff Schmising, S. Eisebitt

    Physical Review B 109 (2024) 184440 /1-9
  3. Direct versus indirect excitation of ultrafast magnetization dynamics in FeNi alloys

    C. von Korff Schmising, S. Jana, O. Zülich, D. Sommer, S. Eisebitt

    Physical Review Research 6 (2024) 013270/1-7
  4. Coherent x-ray magnetic imaging with 5 nm resolution

    R. Battistelli, D. Metternich, M. Schneider, L.-M. Kern, K. Litzius, J. Fuchs, C. Klose, K, Gerlinger, K. Bagschik, C. Günther, W. D. Engel, C. Ropers, S. Eisebitt, B. Pfau, F. Buettner, S. Zayko

    Optica 11 (2024) 234-237
  5. Ultrafast X-ray imaging of the light-induced phase transition in VO2

    A. S. Johnson, D. Pérez-Salinas, K. M. Siddiqui, S. Kim, S. Choi, K. Volckaert, P. E. Majchrzak, S. Ulstrup, K. Hallman, R. F. Haglund, C. M. Günther, B. Pfau, S. Eisebitt, D. Backes, F. Maccherozzi, A. Fitzpatrick, S. Dhesi, P. Gargiani, M. Valvidares, N. Artrith, F. de Groot, H. Choi, D. Jang, A. Katoch, S. Kwon, S. H. Park, H. Kim, S. E. Wall

    Nature Physics 19 (2023) 215-220
  6. X-ray magnetic circular dichroism spectroscopy at the Fe L-edges with a picosecond laser-driven plasma source

    M. Borchert, D. Engel, C. von Korff Schmising, B. Pfau, S. Eisebitt, D. Schick

    Optica 10 (2023) 450-455
  7. Three-dimensional coherent diffraction snapshot imaging using extreme-ultraviolet radiation from a free electron laser

    D. Fainozzi, M. Ippoliti, F. Bille, D.De Angelis, L. Foglia, C. Masciovecchio, R. Mincigrucci, M. Pancaldi, E. Pedersoli, C. M. Günther, B. Pfau, M. Schneider, C. von Korff Schmising, S. Eisebitt, G. Kourousias, F. Bencivenga, F. Capotondi

    Optica 10 (2023) 1053-1058
  8. Versatile tabletop setup for picosecond time-resolved resonant soft-x-ray scattering and spectroscopy

    M. Borchert, J. Brenzel, R. Gnewkow, L. Lunin, T. Sidiropoulos, J. Tümmler, I. Will, T. Noll, O. Reichel, D. Rohloff, A. Erko, T. Krist, C. v. Korff Schmising, B. Pfau, S. Eisebitt, H. Stiel, D. Schick

    Review of Scientific Instruments 94 (2023) 063102/1-12
  9. Ultrafast behavior of induced and intrinsic magnetic moments in CoFeB/Pt bilayers probed by element-specific spectroscopy in the extreme ultraviolet spectral range

    C. von Korff Schmising, S. Jana, K. Yao, M. Hennecke, P. Scheid, S. Sharma, M. Viret, J.-Y. Chauleau, D. Schick, S. Eisebitt

    Phys. Rev. Res. (2023) 013147/1-8
  10. X-ray resonant scattering and holography with application to magnetization dynamics

    B. Pfau, S. Eisebitt

    Book chapter: Structural Dynamics with X-ray and Electron Scattering Ed.: K. Amini, A. Rouzée and M. J. J. Vrakking 25 (2023) 254-300

Other Publications

A publication list can be retrieved in ISI web of science using: author=(eisebitt, s*). A more up to date/extensive list is available on Google Scholar at this this link.