News and Highlights

Electrons in alcohol – concerted molecule and charge motions at terahertz frequencies

Following ultrafast magnetization dynamics in depth

All-optical switching on a nanometer scale

MBI conducts basic research in the field of nonlinear optics and ultrafast dynamics in the interaction of matter with laser light and pursues applications that emerge from this research. It develops and utilizes ultrashort and ultrafast lasers and laser-based short-pulse light sources in a wide spectral range in conjunction with nonlinear spectroscopy methods. The combined use of lasers with x-ray pulses from free electron lasers and synchrotrons complements this scientific program. With its research, MBI fulfills a nationwide mission and is an integral part of the international science community. It offers its facilities and its scientific know-how also to external researchers within the framework of an active guest programme. MBI is involved in various cooperative research projects with universities, other research institutions and industrial partners.
Mission MBI

Events

15 Aug 2022 Mon 16 Aug 2022 Tue 17 Aug 2022 Wed 18 Aug 2022 Thu 19 Aug 2022 Fri
22 Aug 2022 Mon 23 Aug 2022 Tue 24 Aug 2022 Wed 25 Aug 2022 Thu 26 Aug 2022 Fri
W 33/34