News and Highlights

SKM Dissertation Prize 2024 of the DPG for Lisa-Marie Kern

Optical Frequency Combs Make Ultraviolet Spectroscopy More Sensitive and More Precise

Nathalie Picqué is the new Director at the Max Born Institute for Nonlinear Optics and Short Pulse…

MBI conducts basic research in the field of nonlinear optics and ultrafast dynamics in the interaction of matter with laser light and pursues applications that emerge from this research. It develops and utilizes ultrashort and ultrafast lasers and laser-based short-pulse light sources in a wide spectral range in conjunction with nonlinear spectroscopy methods. The combined use of lasers with x-ray pulses from free electron lasers and synchrotrons complements this scientific program. With its research, MBI fulfills a nationwide mission and is an integral part of the international science community. It offers its facilities and its scientific know-how also to external researchers within the framework of an active guest programme. MBI is involved in various cooperative research projects with universities, other research institutions and industrial partners.
Mission MBI
Dynamics of magnetic structures on picosecond time scales probed via resonant magnetic scattering at FERMI
Max Born Hall | Events, MBI Colloquium
Prof. Dr. Christian Gutt
We are interested in the temporal response of magnetic structures upon excitation by short pulses of IR and XUV radiation. Employing circularly polarized light pulses from an XUV FEL we investigated the evolution of the chirality of domain walls in magnetic thin film samples. Using samples…
22
May 2024
Wednesday
14:00

Events

13 May 2024 Mon 14 May 2024 Tue 15 May 2024 Wed 16 May 2024 Thu 17 May 2024 Fri
20 May 2024 Mon 21 May 2024 Tue 22 May 2024 Wed 23 May 2024 Thu 24 May 2024 Fri
W 20/21