/en/research/profile/index.html
Scientific profile

It is now generally understood that the photon, the light particle, will play a similar role in the development of cutting edge technologies in the 21st century as did the electron in the 20th century for electrical engineering and electronics. Lasers are one of the key sources for light with very special properties. The control of coherence, i.e. forcing light waves in step with each other, represents a revolution in the generation of light and has led to a breakthrough of new optical methods in research and technology. Lasers are indispensable tools for storing and transmitting information, for measurement techniques, for medical diagnostics as well as for high-technology materials processing from ships and airplanes down to computer chips.. Lasers allow for the generation of extremely short light pulses with a duration of less than a millionth of a millionth of a second (1 picosecond = 10-12s). Ultrafast processes in nature can be induced and observed in real time using such ultra-short pulses. Ultra-fast science has become an important field of basic research and has found broad application in measurement and - more recently - process technologies. Ultra-short pulses can be amplified to extremely high intensities at which new states of matter may be excited by nonlinear processes.

It is this field of research with and at ultrashort and ultraintense lasers and laser based pulsed light sources which constitutes the mission of the MBI. On the one hand, lasers represent a subject of research; on the other hand, lasers are the essential tool used for experimental studies of light-matter interaction. Hence, MBI’s research program focuses on

  • new sources for ultra short and ultra intense light pulses, pulse shaping, pulse characterization, and measuring techniques for ultra fast processes in a broad spectral range from the mid-infrared to the x-ray region
  • ultrafast and nonlinear phenomena with special emphasis on
    • atoms, molecules, clusters and plasmas
    • and surfaces and solid state.

The combination of modern laser development and measuring technique with its interdisciplinary application in basic research and for emerging key technologies constitutes the unique profile of the MBI and its attraction to external cooperation partners.

A schematic of the research structure is shown here.

/de/research/profile/index.html
Wissenschaftliches profil

Es ist heute allgemein akzeptiert, dass das Photon, das Lichtteilchen, eine ähnliche Rolle für die Zukunftstechnologien des 21sten spielen wird, wie es das Elektron im vergangenen Jahrhundert für die Elektronik und Elektrotechnik getan hat. Laser sind Lichtquellen ganz besonderer Art. Die Kontrolle der Kohärenz, d.h. der erzwungene Gleichtakt der Lichtwellen, hat die Erzeugung von Licht revolutioniert und neuen Methoden der Optik in Forschung und Technologie zum Durchbruch verholfen. Laser sind unverzichtbare Werkzeuge beim Speichern und Übertragen von Information, in der Messtechnik, in der medizinischen Diagnostik und in der modernen Fertigungstechnik vom Schiffs- und Flugzeugbau bis hin zum Computerchip. Laser gestatten darüber hinaus die Erzeugung extrem kurzer Lichtblitze, deren Dauer weniger als ein Millionstel einer Millionstel Sekunde (1 Pikosekunde ps = 10-12 s) beträgt. Mit solchen Impulsen lassen sich ultraschnelle Vorgänge in der Natur auslösen und zeitaufgelöst verfolgen. Die Ultrakurzzeitspektroskopie hat große Bedeutung in der Grundlagenforschung erlangt und breite Anwendung in der Messtechnik gefunden. Ultrakurze Lichtimpulse lassen sich auf extrem hohe Intensitäten verstärken, die nichtlineare Wechselwirkungen und neuartige Materiezustände ermöglichen.

Es ist dieses Forschungsgebiet mit und an ultrakurzen und ultraintensiven Lasern sowie laserbasierten, gepulsten Lichtquellen, welches die Mission des MBI definiert. Zum einen repräsentieren Laser dabei einen Gegenstand der Forschung; auf der anderen Seite werden sie als unverzichtbares Werkzeug für die Untersuchung der Wechselwirkung von Licht mit Materie eingesetzt. Daher konzentriert das MBI sein Forschungsprogramm auf

  • neue Quellen für ultrakurze und ultraintensive Lichtimpulse, Pulsformung, Pulscharakterisierung und Messtechniken für ultraschnelle Prozesse in einem breiten Spektralgebiet vom mittleren Infrarot bis hin in den Röntgenbereich
  • ultraschnelle, nichtlineare Phänomene
    • in Atomen, Molekülen, Clustern und Plasmen
    • sowie an Oberflächen und in Festkörpern.

Die Kombination von moderner Laserentwicklung und Messtechnik mit deren interdisziplinären Anwendungen in der Grundlagenforschung und im Vorfeld des technischen Einsatzes verleiht dem MBI sein Alleinstellungsmerkmal und besondere Attraktivität für externe Nutzer.

Schematisch sind die Zusammenhänge hier dargestellt.